h1

Owl Wrist Warmers

July 21, 2013

The next thing I made was something for myself. I don’t make many things for myself these days so it was a bit of a treat. New gloves – with owls on them!

I’ve seen this owl motif on all sorts of things on Ravelry. There’s a particularly lovely sweater with the motif around the yoke which made me drool, but I’m not much of a sweater-wearer and couldn’t justify the time to make something I’d rarely wear. Then I saw this pattern on the front of Mollie Makes magazine and knew that it was for me.

It was my first go with a cable needle and I’m pleased to report that it was as easy as pie – not nearly as complicated as it looks. The gloves came out a bit on the small side – at first I thought that I wouldn’t be able to get them on – but they stretched a bit and were just snug, which was actually pretty nice.

Unfortunately they didn’t last long. I missed a knot coming up in the yarn and knitted over it – eventually it worked its way undone and left an annoying hole in the palm of one glove. I guess I’ll just have to make another pair in time for winter!

Pattern: Owl Wrist Warmers by Tanya Antonova from Mollie Makes, issue 21 (on Ravelry)
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Rialto Chunky
Hook: 5.0 mm

Leave a Reply

