h1

Chevron lace fingerless mitts

January 22, 2012

I got two brilliant new craft books for Christmas, both of which had been on my wish list for a while. The first was Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders edited by Judith Durant and the second was I Can’t Believe I’m Crocheting Socks by Karen Whooley. I was probably more excited about the concept of crocheting socks to begin with, but as soon as I browsed the one-skein wonders book, a dozen projects were crying out to me and demanding my time right away. I do have rather a lot of stashed sock yarn and quite a bit of it was purchased before I knew much about knitting socks. You know, little things like hand knitted socks can be itchy unless you buy just the right yarn – and hand knitted socks are super-cozy and warm but your feet might not actually fit inside your shoes when you’re wearing them unless you go up a shoe size!

So the first project I decided to tackle was not socks, but these fingerless gloves. I needed to learn a few new skills to make them:

* Crochet picot cast on! A completely new concept to me – crocheting onto a knitting needle. Very confusing at first, but how completely clever once you’ve worked it out!

* Using a stitch-marker! I really don’t know how I got by until now without knowing this, but I really didn’t know how to use a stitch-marker properly before. I have some which are like little tiny plastic paper clips and have always used them by hooking them around the yarn itself. I couldn’t find them when I needed them though, which caused much cursing and rummaging and made me very stressed indeed, until I remembered I had these beautiful beaded stitch markers which my lovely friend Amanda made for me a few years ago. “But I can’t hook them over the yarn, they don’t have an opening!”, I thought, and finally went off to Google to search for how to use a stitch-marker properly. You just slip it over the needle. How silly did I feel? It’s easy when you know how!

* Thumbs! I’ve never knitted anything with thumbs (or fingers) before. It was a little bit daunting at first but worked out fine. I’m not sure what I was so worried about.

* Picot bind-off! Fortunately the instructions for this were included in the pattern so I couldn’t go too far wrong.

And I love them! The only thing I would do differently is to make them a bit smaller (by using smaller needles). I wish I had checked Ravelry before I begun knitting as I found that almost everyone who’d made these before me had said the same thing. I may well make another pair before long though as they were a really quick knit.

Pattern: Chevron Lace Fingerless Mitts by Lynne A Evans from Sock-Yarn One Skein Wonders (on Ravelry)
Yarn: Wendy Happy Bamboo yarn in Lavender (2525)
Needles: 2.75mm DPNs (but I would use 2.5mm or even 2.25mm if I were to make them again)

2 comments

  1. Thanks so much for posting your pics and comments. Your mitts are beautiful!!! I love this pattern and am currently making them. I’m wondering, however, if you had any problems with the pattern? I’ve been knitting a long time and am confused with the instructions for the thumb. There is no errata published for this pattern. I find the addition of the 7 sts onto the thumb with nothing on the mitt to match them to a little confusing. Does it really work out without creating gathered stitches where the thumb connects??


  2. Hi Maria, thanks very much for your comment! I don’t remember having any problems with the thumbs but it’s been a whole year since I made them and my memory is a little hazy about the details. I’m pretty sure it just worked out first time though!



Leave a Reply

