h1

Hexagons crochet blanket

November 22, 2010

Well, hello little blog, hello dear readers. After a rush of posts in August I seem to have been away for months. Not because I haven’t been crafting, but, well, I’ve been working on a different kind of project, I guess you could say. It left me rather bereft of energy and time for knitting and crochet – more about that another time, however.

I’m very pleased to say that amongst everything else that’s been going on, I’ve finally finished the hexagon blanket that I’ve been working on, on and off, for the last 18 months or so. It was a great fun project to work on, but being such a big thing it kept getting pushed a side for smaller, quicker projects — like all those socks.

Eventually I told myself that I couldn’t start anything new until the hexagons were complete, so I finally put my mind to it, and I’m very pleased that I did!

Pattern: Hexagon How-to by Lucy at Attic24
Yarn: Rowan Pure Wool DK, (which I blogged about here)
Hook: 4mm
Border: three rounds of UK tr (US dc) with a ripple-ish 2x decrease at each corner where two hexagons join, and increases at the “outwards facing” corners.
Edge: Bobble-shell Edging, again by Lucy at Attice 24.
Hexagons: 170

By far my biggest knit/crochet project so far, and very satisfying!

7 comments

  1. It looks great! very colorful πŸ™‚


  2. Love the color combinations!


  3. Congratulations for this beautiful blanket!!
    ItΒ΄s perfect!!


  4. Beautiful color combination and I love the edging. What a great blanket.


  5. This is soooo amazing – well done!!


  6. Stunning! I love the colours πŸ™‚


  7. Congratulations on such a beautiful blanket – and on your huge new project! πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

