h1

May crochet and gardening

May 12, 2009

May – how did we end up here already? Not only that, but speedily approaching the middle of the month. Summer will be here before we know it!

The plants on my balcony are starting to grow and are making the place look jolly and nice. This year I’ve invested in a load of lovely French Marigold plugs in the hope that they’ll help keep the bugs off my tomatoes (a tip found in the BBC Gardeners’ World magazine) and some colourful aubrieta, to name but two.

Aubrieta Kitte Rose

Honestly, the number of plants on the balcony seems to multiply by the day – garden centres seem to be my weakness at the moment. We travelled to Malvern at the weekend for the Spring Gardening Show – the first time I’ve made it there in five years – and had a lovely time in the sunshine drooling at all the plants I’ll have, one day, when we finally manage to move into a proper house, with a proper garden. We’ll get there one day, but for now my balcony will just have to get ever more crowded. Oh, and did I mention that we saw Joe Swift there?

In craft-land, progress is being made on the hexagon blanket. Slower progress than I’d like, but it’s progress all the same.

New pens and crochet-in-progress

I’ve been thinking about how to finish it — to make a hexagon of hexagons, or maybe a rectangle? After keeping and eye out for ideas I was inspired by this lovely blanket by Nonni Mariella and have been experimenting with the idea half hexagons! After some fiddling around and a few mistakes I think I have come up with a design which works, which I now need to write down and try to join it into the main blanket to see how it looks.

Half hexagons

It’s looking promising so far!

In other news, it was my Mum’s birthday recently and among other things, I decided to give her the Sunburst afghan I completed a couple of months ago. To say she loved it would be a bit of an understatement – I’m so pleased!

2 comments

  1. I really like the half hexagon you created in the hexagon love pattern, I think. Would you mind sharing it with me, please?


    • Hi Maureen,
      Thanks for your comment. I haven’t written the pattern up yet — I’m still slowly working on the blanket in between other projects. I will definitely write this up eventually and will let you know when I do!



Leave a Reply

