h1

Hartbeat

January 18, 2009

Take Hart

I was very sad today to hear that Tony Hart has passed away, at 83 years of age. I loved his shows as a kid and although it feels like a cliché to say so, I’m sure he was a great influence on me. Although I was “not very good at art” in the classroom and gave up the subject as soon as I could, there was little I loved more than messing around with marker pens and paints, coloured papers and yarns. Anything that would count as being creative. I guess some things never change.

My parents took me to meet Tony at a book signing in Guildford. I have no idea how they knew it was happening or what prompted them to take me; looking back it was an unusual thing for us to do. I remember being very surprised, and thought it was the greatest thing ever. I asked him to draw a hamster for me — we’d got one as a new pet in the past few days. Judging from the age of the book, I must have been about nine at the time, and it’s one of the very few things that I still have from back then.

Rest in peace, Tony.

Leave a Reply

